‘Offensive + 316 home runs’ Rolen enters HOF in 6 moves

Scott Rolen (48), who was the leading third baseman in Major League Baseball (MLB), was selected as the only Hall of Fame inductee this year.

The Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) released the results of the vote on the 25th (Korean time) to elect inductees into the Hall of Fame. Rolen recorded a vote rate of 76.3% (297 votes), and was the only one out of 28 candidates this year to pass the entry threshold (75% vote rate).

Rolen ended his playing career in 2012 and was nominated for induction into the Hall of Fame five years after his retirement. It was not easy for him to join. In the 2018 poll, his first challenge, his share of the vote was only 10.2%. However, each year since then, his share of the vote has increased. He garnered 63.2% of the vote last year, the highest among the dropouts. Hopeful prospects followed him, thanks to his share of votes that went ‘upward’, and he finally received the honor of reaching the Hall of Fame after only his 6th challenge this year.

Rolen, who made his big league debut with the Philadelphia Phillies in 1996, played for 17 years in four teams: St. Louis Cardinals (2002-2007), Toronto Blue Jays (2008-2009), and Cincinnati Reds (2009-2012). After winning the National League Rookie of the Year award unanimously in 1997, he started his career with a career batting average of 0.281, 316 homers, 1287 runs, and 2077 hits. In addition to home runs, he also hit 517 doubles, so his long hitting power was excellent and his defense was perfect. He won the Gold Glove eight times in his career, and was also named an All-Star seven times.

Rolen is a professional third baseman who played only as a third baseman from his debut until his retirement. Of the 1982 BBWAA ballot inductees, the only professional third basemen are Rolen and Chipper Jones.

Meanwhile, Todd Helton, a hard hitter from the Colorado Rockies who was trying to join with Rolen, failed in his fifth attempt. 메이저사이트 The vote rate remained at 72.2%, 11 votes short of the admission standard. As he has recorded a steady rise, his possibility of joining can be expected.

He has also failed in his last challenge. Jeff Kent, who played as a second baseman for the San Francisco Giants, took only 46.5% of the votes in his 10th challenge. He is a Hall of Fame nominee who loses his ballot inductee challenge if he fails to be inducted in the 10th challenge.

Those who caused controversy over banned substances again scored fewer votes. Alex Rodriguez (35.7%) and Manny Ramirez (33.2%) both fell short of 40% of the vote.

Carlos Beltran, who had a reputation as the ‘Autumn Man’ as a player, left a good first step despite the controversy over the autograph scandal during his time with the Houston Astros. He placed first among the first challengers of the year with 46.5% of the vote.

Rolen will attend the Hall of Fame induction ceremony held in Cooperstown, New York, USA in July this year along with Fred McGriff, who is inducted through a vote by the Modern Baseball Era Committee. McGriff, who hit 493 home runs in his MLB career, was eliminated from the BBWAA vote, but received a unanimous vote in the committee vote last month and was eligible to join.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *